top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichael Page

Fire Safe Community Designation

Updated: Jul 10, 2020

We are honored to receive this designation! Our goal is to continue improving our community through public education and resources. Below is the official release from Fire Safe SC.

Fire Safe South Carolina (FSSC) has actively worked with local fire departments to develop community risk reduction (CRR) plans for their jurisdictions since its launch in June 2017. With the help of local fire departments, we have worked to reduce fire-related injuries, promote consistent messaging, improve data quality, and provide valuable resources.

“Outreach has been tremendous,” State Fire’s CRR Chief Josh Fulbright said. “Departments reported more than 1,500 CRR events, educating more than 250,000 citizens. We congratulate designees, to whom alarm resources are available, and are providing each a custom Fire Safe SC Community sign denoting their success.”

Fire Safe SC’s organizational partners include the S.C. State Firefighters’ Association, the S.C. State Association of Fire Chiefs, and the S.C. Fire Marshal Association. Together, they announce the following fire departments have been actively engaged and completed various goals for designation as a Fire Safe SC Community.

Awendaw McClellanville Consolidated Fire District

Bamberg Fire District

Barnwell Rural Fire Department

Bennettsville Fire Department

Bluffton Township Fire District

Boiling Springs Fire District

Bonham Fire Department

Buffalo-Cherokee VFD

Camden Fire Department

Charleston Fire Department

Cheraw Fire Department

City of Newberry Fire Department

City of Sumter Fire Department

Clarendon County Fire Rescue

Clemson University Fire & EMS

Clinton Fire

Columbia-Richland Fire & Rescue

Crosswell Fire District

Dacusville Fire Department

Dorchester County Fire Rescue

Fairfield County Fire Service

Flint Hill Fire Rescue

Florence Fire Department

Georgetown City Fire Department

Georgetown County Fire/EMS

Grassy Pond Fire Department

Hardeeville Fire Department

Hartsville Fire Department

Hilton Head Island Fire Rescue

Howe Springs Fire Rescue

Irmo Fire District

Kingstree Fire Department

Lady's Island-St. Helena Fire District

Lancaster County Fire Rescue

Lee County Fire and Rescue

Long Branch Fire Department

Lugoff Fire Rescue

Mauldin Fire Department

McCormick Fire Department

Midway Fire Rescue

Murrells Inlet-Garden City Fire District

North Charleston Fire Department

Orangeburg County Fire District

Parker District Fire Department

Pelham-Batesville Fire Department

Pickens Rural Fire/Rescue

Piedmont Park Fire District

Prosperity/Stoney Hill Fire Department

Sandy Branch Volunteer Fire Department

Santee Fire District

Sheldon Township Fire District

St. Andrews Fire Department

Taylors Fire Department

Tega Cay Fire Department

West Columbia Fire Department

Westview-Fairforest Fire Department

Williamsburg County Fire Department

Unite. Engage. Support. Serve.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fire Prevention Week 2020: Press Release

As Fire Prevention Week™ approaches, Howe Springs Fire Rescue reminds residents: “Serve Up Fire Safety in the Kitchen!™ Howe Springs Fire Rescue is teaming up with the National Fire Protection Associa


bottom of page